DO YOU FACE WEAPONS CHARGES IN WASHINGTON?
What Is A Felony Weapons Charge?
There are certain charges that a person may face if they are in possession of a firearm after having been previously convicted of some kind of felony in the past. These are laws that are established in many states to try to keep firearms out of the hands of those who have shown before that they are unable to follow the rules of society.
These laws are additional charges are top of other charges that a person may be facing. What that means is that if they are arrested for some other charge, they must then face the gun charges on top of that -- with extra time served. Felony weapons charges are designed to be a means of making sure that guns stay out of the hands of dangerous repeat offenders as much as possible.
In the event that you ever find yourself facing a weapons charge that is a felony, you will want to have an attorney who can help with these situations, helping to minimize or eliminate the additional penalties that you face based on your past behavior. Michael Harbeson is a Washington defense attorney who can give you your best chances when you’re facing a felony weapons charge.
Whatever you’ve done to find yourself facing a felony weapons charge, be sure to get it taken care of right away. Any delays could leave you in a worse position to fight your legal problems down the road!
Washington Weapons Criminal Attorney Michael Harbeson Can Help!
A person, whether an adult or juvenile, is guilty of unlawful possession of a firearm in the first degree, if the person owns, has in their possession, or has in their control any firearm after having previously been convicted or found not guilty by reason of insanity in this state or elsewhere of any serious offense as defined in this chapter.
Unlawful possession of a firearm in the first degree is a Class B felony
A person, whether an adult or juvenile, is guilty of the crime of unlawful possession of a firearm in the second degree, if the person does not qualify under the section above for the crime of unlawful possession of a firearm in the first degree and the person owns, has in their possession, or has their control any firearm:
Unlawful possession of a firearm in the second degree is a Class C felony
When can you be charged with a weapons charge ?
Being charged with a weapons offense or gun violation in Washington State can be very frightening, especially for first time offenders. Gun and weapons charges are very serious crimes, and are often times prosecuted very aggressively with tough consequences. These consequences may involve serious jail time.
||0 to 90 days
||Up to $1,000
||90 days to 1 year
||Up to $5,000
|Class B Felony
||1 years to 3.5 years
|Class C Felony
||Up to 1 years
||Up to $10,000
Regardless of the degree charged the goal remain the same. We will help you avoid the conviction for the criminal charge, but perhaps more importantly, keep you out of jail.
REMEMBER - REMAIN SILENT AND REQUEST AN ATTORNEY!
Former Prosecution Experience
24/7 Access to Your Attorney
Proven History of Success
Call us now to receive your Free professional Weapons case evaluation at (253) 209-6366